## **MINUTES**

Minutes of the General Body Meeting (GBM) of Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine (IAPSM) held on 07.02.2014 at Agartala Government Medical College, Agartala.

The GBM was convened by Prof. C.P. Mishra, Secretary General and presided by Dr. Puneet Misra, President, IAPSM. Other members on the dias were Dr. Sangeeta Kansal (Joint Secretary) and Dr. Ravi Shankar (Treasurer).

Agenda 1 : Tribute to Prof. Deoki Nandan.

**Resolution** : Two minutes silence was observed by members of IAPSM to pay tribute to Prof. Deoki Nandan and it was resolved that "We the members of IAPSM, are in deep grief on sad demise of Prof. Deoki Nandan on 6<sup>th</sup> December 2013. He has several hallmarks in his public health career of more than 30 years. He has been president of both apex professional bodies (IAPSM & IPHA). He was bestowed with fellowship of IAPSM and National Academy of Medical Sciences. For all the versatile services he rendered to mankind selflessly, we pray the almighty and wish that may his soul rest in eternal peace."

Agenda 2 : Ratification/Approval of decision taken in Governing Council Meetings.

**Resolution** : The salient points pertaining to ratification/approval are given below –

2.1	General council approved to delete criteria No. 5.1.1 (iv) for life membership w.e.f.
	01.04.2014. It was resolved that provisional life membership number be given to PG
	students (MD Community Medicine/SPM/PSM) which will be converted to permanent
	life membership after submission of MD certificate. Provisional life members will be
	considered for awards of IAPSM.
2.2	It was resolved that the fee for life membership be revised from Rs. 2500/- to Rs. 4000/-
	w.e.f. 01.04.2014.
2.3	A committee was constituted for revisiting the criteria for the fellowship and oration of
	IAPSM:
	1. Prof. Pradeep Khanna
	2. Prof. Mohan K. Doibale
	3. Prof. J. Ravi Kumar
2.4	It was resolved that the fee for the fellowship of the association (FIAPSM) be revised
	from Rs. 3000/- to Rs. 5000/- w.e.f. 01.04. 2014.
2.5	It was resolved that henceforth all expenditure related to Mid-term Governing Council
	Meeting be met by the interest accrued from recent fixed deposit of Rs. 15 Lacs.
2.6	An additional budgetary requirement for up gradation of website was approved.
2.7	Travel of Secretary General and his team by car from Varanasi to AIIMS, New Delhi and
	back in connection with transfer of documents and items of IAPSM was approved.
2.8	Travel of President from New Delhi to Varanasi and back and Dr. S. Baidya from
	Agartala to Kolkata and back by air for attending mid-term Governing Council meeting at
	Varanasi was approved.
2.9	One project proposal for ford Foundation Epidemiological Grant by Dr. Saira Mehnaz,
	AMU was approved for presentation. Attention of GC members, fellows of IAPSM and
	Senior members was drawn for encouraging members and postgraduates for submission
	of Projects.
2.10	It was resolved that zonal members take necessary measures to encourage state chapters.

Agenda No. 3 : Approval of Dhanwantari & Dr. Harcharan Singh Oration of 2015.

**Resolution** : GBM approved orations of 2015 as given below –

Name of the Oration			Orator		Remarks			
Dhanwantari	Dhanwantari Oration		Kumar, (	Chandigarh	To be delivered in Annual			
				· - 11- '	Conference of IAPSM, 2015			
Dr. Harcharan	n Singh Oration	Dr. K. Anand, New Delhi			- do -			
Agenda No. 4	: Approval of fellows	ship.						
<b>Resolution</b> : Fellowship of Indian Association of Preventive and Social Medicine (IAPSM) wa by the GBM for following nominees:								
	Prof. Nazam Khalique: AligarhProf. S.K. Rasania: New DelhiDr. Raj Narayan Tiwari: AhmedabadDr. Sonu Goel: Chandigarh							
	This will be awarded to them in the Annual Conference of IAPSM to be held in 2015.							
Agenda No. 5	<b>5</b> : To approve audited report of IAPSM for the year 2013-14.							
Resolution								
Agenda No. 6	: To approve audited	report of IJCN	A for the	year 2013-14.				
Resolution	: Approved							
Agenda No. 7	: To approve the prop	oosed budget f	or the ye	ar 2014-15.				
Resolution	: Approved							
Agenda No. 8 : Declaration of the positions of the association and induction of the vacant positions								
Resolution	<ul> <li>tion : GBM approved the name of Dr. A.K. Bhardwaj for the post of President and Dr. Sanja Pandey (Bihar) as member from north central zone.</li> <li>It was resolved that Dr. Vivek Adish, Editor, IJCM be given responsibility of actin Chief Editor of IJCM for which he has consented. Vacant posts of Governing Council of IAPSM were filled during the GBM by election which was coordinated by Prof. V.K.</li> </ul>							
	Srivastava, Election Commissioner of IAPSM. The final list of office bearers for the year 2014-15 is as follows –							
	(a) President		:	Dr. A.K. Bha	rdwaj			
	(b) Immediate Past P	resident	:	Dr. Puneet M	5			
	(c) Vice President		:	Dr. S. Baidya	ı			
	(d) Secretary General	l	:	Dr. C.P. Mish				
	(e) Joint Secretary		:	Dr. Sangeeta				
	(f) Treasurer		:	Dr. Ravi Sha				
	(g) Chief Editor of IJ	CM (Acting)	:	Dr. Vivek Ad	lhish			

Zonal Members :

(i) South	:	Dr. Annarao G. Kulkarni (Karnataka, 2 <sup>nd</sup> Term) Dr. Anil K Purty (Puducherry)
(ii) South Central	:	Dr. Manju Topo (MP)
		Dr. Surya Bali (MP)
(iii) North Central	:	Dr. S.K. Rasania (New Delhi, 2 <sup>nd</sup> Term)
		Dr. Sanjay Pandey (Bihar)
(iv) East	:	Dr. Palash Das (West Bengal, 2 <sup>nd</sup> Term)
		Dr. Tulika Goswami Mahanta (Assam)
(v) North	:	Dr. N.K. Goel (Chandigarh)
		Dr. Sunil Rana (Himachal Pradesh, 2 <sup>nd</sup> Term)
(vi) West	:	Dr. Mohan K. Doibale (Maharashtra, 2 <sup>nd</sup> Term)
		Dr. V.K. Mathur (Rajasthan)
		Dr. V.K. Mathur (Rajasthan)

Agenda No. 9 : To decide the venue of conference (IAPSMCON 2015).

**Resolution** : Following proposal were received (in chronological order)

Lucknow	: Dr. V.K. Srivastava
Kolkata	: Dr. Palash Das
New Delhi	: Dr. S.K. Rasania
Kakinada	: Dr. G. Krishna Babu
Dehradun	: Dr. Jayanti Semwal
	Kolkata New Delhi Kakinada

GBM agreed to the offer of Dr. V.K. Srivastava to hold the IAPSMCON 2015 at Lucknow. All members were requested to offer suitable help to Dr. V.K. Sirvastava.

- Agenda No. 10: To consider the request of Andhra Pradesh state branch of IAPSM to constitute Dr. G. Anjaneyulu life time achievement award.
- **Resolution** : To consider the request of Andhra Pradesh state branch of IAPSM of constitute Dr. G. Anjaneyulu lifetime achievement award, a committee has been constituted . The members of the committee are:

1.	Prof. Zile Singh	:	South
2.	Prof. V.K. Srivastava	:	North
3.	Prof. N.C. Luwang	:	East
4.	Prof. Mohan K. Doibale	:	West
5.	Prof. D.K. Taneja	:	New Delhi

Meeting ended with thanks to the chair

(**Prof. C.P. Mishra**) Secretary General IAPSM