The GBM of IAPSM was held on 23/01/2013 in the Auditorium of Government Medical College, Nagpur, at 6.00 P.M. The meeting was chaired by Dr. Shashi Kant (President, and Acting Sec. General). Other members on the dias were Dr. A.K. Bhardwaj (Vice-President) and Dr. Anil Goswami (Treasurer). The meeting started with observing two minutes silence as a tribute to the late Professor Bir Singh who was the secretary General of the IAPSM. Thereafter, the Action Taken Report (ART) on the minutes of the Governing Council (G.C.) meeting held on 13/10/2012 at CRHSP, Ballabgarh, was presented to the General Body. The salient points discussed were as follows:-

- (1) Updated list of members of IAPSM has been sent to IJCM Office.
- (2) Members were apprised that no nominations were received for 2013 Harcharan Singh Oration and no nominations for 2014 Dhanvantri, and Harcharan Singh Oration were received though the last date was 2nd October, 2012. It was decided to extend the last date of nomination for 2013 Harcharan Singh oration till 20-03-2013. The same has been notified on the official website of IAPSM.

It was also decided that for 2014 and subsequent years, the Association may invite the names for the orations instead of the current practice of persons applying for it. It was agreed that the persons eligible for nominating for orations are as follows:-

- Recipients of Dhanvantri or Harcharan Singh oration.
- Current G.C. Members
- Past Presidents, and Secretary Generals of IAPSM.

However, before making the nomination the concurrence of the nominee would be ascertained and submitted in writing at the time of nomination.

(3) Election for office bearers of 2013-14: The Election Commissioner was Dr. V.K. Srivastava. All posts were filled unopposed. Executive members from where the seats were vacant were elected unopposed during the GBM. The final list of office bearers for year 2013-14 is as follows:-

(a) President

(b) Immediate past President

(c) Vice President

(d) Secretary General

(e) Joint Secretary

(f) Treasurer

(g) Chief Editor of IJCM

Dr. Puneet Misra,

Dr. Shashi Kant,

- Dr.Uday Wasudeorao

Narlawar

Dr. C.P. Mishra

To be decided by Secretary

General, Dr. C.P. Mishra

- Dr. Deoki Nandan

Members of the Governing Council 2013-14:

(i) South - Dr. N. Samson Sanjeeva Rao (Andhra Pradesh)
Dr. Annarao G. Kulkarni (Karnataka)

(ii) South Centre- Dr. Ranjana Tiwari (Madhya Pradesh)

Dr. Nirmal Verma (Chhatisgarh)

(iii) North Central - Dr. Chandra Kant Laharia (Delhi)

- Dr. S.K. Rasania (Delhi)

(iv) East - Dr. Subrata Baidya (Tripura, Second

consecutive term)

- Dr. Palash Das (West Bengal)

(v) North - Dr. Sunil Raina (Himachal Pradesh)

Dr. Anmol Gupta (Himachal Pradesh,

Second consecutive term)

(vi) West - Dr. K.N. Sonaliya (Gujrat)

Dr. Mohan K. Doibale (Maharashtra)

(4) Electronic voting for IAPSM election. It was decided that from next year there would be electronic voting for IAPSM election. It is mandatory for the IAPSM members to register their email ID with the IAPSM Headquarter. A notice for the same has already been published in the IJCM.

(5) Issues related to IJCM. The Chief Editor was applauded for his leadership in bringing out the Journal in time. He has been authorized to sign the renewal of MOU with the publisher (Medknow). The Chief Editor informed that by next year the financial position would become comfortable, and break-even status would be achieved.

The GBM approved the proposal to transfer Rs.70,000 to the Journal. This amount was the saving resulting from avoiding postal ballot cost (all elections being unopposed). GBM also approved that henceforth the Journal would be dispatched by UPC instead of through Speed Post which has become very costly.

- (6) Tenure of the President of IAPSM. Many options were discussed in the GBM, however no decision could be reached. Hence, the current practice of one year tenure for President of IAPSM would continue.
- (7) Oration in the name of Prof G. Anjaneulu: It was suggested that the proposed oration may be instituted constituted at the state level as is the practice in many other states.
- (8) Holding of IAPSMCON 2014: GBM agreed to the offer of Dr. S. Baidya to hold the IAPSMCON 2014 at Agartala, Tripura. All members were requested to offer suitable help to Dr. Baidya.

- (9) Audited account of IAPSM (2012-13) and proposed budget for IAPSM, and IJCM (2013-14) were presented by Dr. Anil Goswami, Treasurer, IAPSM. GBM approved the presentation of audited account and proposed budget.
- (10) Fellowship: Seven nominations were received, however no person was found eligible for IAPSM fellowship for 2013. Members did not agree that the criteria for Fellowship should be diluted.
- (11) Epidemiological Research Grant: Three post graduate students of Community Medicine received Epidemiological Research Grant.
- (12) State of Gujarat, Pondicherry, Andhra Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh presented the State Report.

Meeting ended with thanks to the chair.

(Dr. Shashi Kant) Secretary General (Acting)